Training to be a Jedi (sort of)

Nerd Fitness. FitBit.  BuJo.

Current stats:

  • Weight – 208.1
  • Body Fat Percentage – 38.3%

Add them all together and what do you get? My first time participating in a self-designed fitness challenge. Bring on the training montage (again).

In a living room far, far, away…

I’ve assembled my gear – no need to spend any more money. Don’t have it to spend if truth be told. What I have on hand  will have to do; no excuses that way. Anyway, my gear:

  • shoes
  • clothes
  • FitBit
  • laptop
  • internet connection
  • Nerd Fitness Yoga program (downloaded and ready to roll)
  • HDMI cable so I can hook the laptop up to the TV
  • food (relatively good stuff, gotta watch it on the carb intake, reduce my sauces, that kind of thing)
  • body (can’t go anywhere without it, lol)
  • set of dumbbells
  • desire to no longer be built like a couch potato

My Yoda?  Well, I’m trusting my Divinity to take on that roll.

My training begins on May 8th and runs through June 4th.  (4 Week Challenge). My BuJo will serve as my planning / execution tracker.

This first challenge sets the stage. I must begin to condition my body, mind, and spirit; learn to use the Force in a positive way, avoiding The Dark Side and it’s delicious cookies ;-).

Body:  I’m going for fit and flexible, muscled but not all that bulked up. I want strength, endurance, and balance. So for this challenge, I’m building a foundation with a mix of Yoga, body weight training, and walking.

  • Challenge goal – Exercise 27 days:  walk three times a day (one of those has to be a mile minimum); body weight routine (push-ups & squats) three times a week, Yoga three times a week.
  • Challenge goal – Cook and eat minimum 80 meals (out of 3 meals / day / 30 days); drink 16 ozs. water with every meal. Eat foods as close to their ‘raw’ state as possible. Little to no sauce or spreads. Honey over sugars, naturally sweet over everything.  Grown instead of processed; nothing that comes already cooked or prepared, in a bag.

Mind: Get back into my creativity; tapping into the excitement of learning something new.  Strengthen the muscle that is my brain.

  • Challenge goal – Portuguese: practice my basic phrases for five minutes each day.
  • Challenge goal – Word games and vocabulary study: pick up a puzzle book, spend an hour on the weekends doing crosswords, logic puzzles, word scrambles, etc. Look up all words I’m not familiar with and use them in my current novel draft.

Spirit: Obviously, need to ‘reawaken the Force’ within.

  • Challenge goal – Meditate for a minimum of five minutes in the morning and evening every day.

You can find, friend, and join me  in my limited fitness social media worlds:

  1. Nerd Fitness – Onyx Butterfly
  2. FitBit – D.E.

Even though the challenge doesn’t officially start until Sunday, I kicked things off yesterday:

  • walk 1 – 9:05 AM
  • walk 2 – 2:27 PM
  • walk 3 – 4:25 PM, 1.3 miles
  • push-ups – 2
  • squats – 2
  • dinner at home (not the healthiest meal but not too, too bad)

I’ve got quite a ways to go to meet my challenge goals, but then that’s what makes them a challenge, eh?

Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be back with an update on the business side of things. Lots of work to be done there, the Legit Launch happens July 18th – the 8 year anniversary of my first published work of fiction. 🙂

Love,

Dana

 

18 thoughts on “Training to be a Jedi (sort of)

  1. Sounds like a great routine. I think it’s best when we set reasonable goals & you’ve definitely done that. Whenever I hear someone say “I’m going to give up all carbs & start running 3 miles every day” I know they’re doomed to fail. I know that sounds awful but it’s true. I know from my own experience that I have to set small goals & gradually build my way up to a bigger goal.

    1. Amen to that. I still have a hard time not setting the monster goals (note the posts about my business, lol) but I’m learning, particularly when it comes to adopting healthy habits. 🙂

  2. As a Chiropractic Physician that has helped many people find good health (which included a healthy weight and body frame) I wish you much success on your journey. You have set a pretty high bar to attain. When I worked with patients, I helped people accomplish small objectives REGULARLY over longer periods of time. It made it simpler to remain disciplined while achieving success over and over. This helped motivate and keep people on track. I also implemented REALISTIC solutions for LONG TERM results.

    If you ever have any questions, please feel free to contact me via my blog site. When I see individuals motivated and ready to take the next step, I want them to know they have people (even strangers like myself) supporting their efforts. To add credibility to my support, I want you to know I do not receive ANY compensation for my supportive efforts.

    Wishing you all the success possible.

      1. Great article, thank you. All good stuff I need to keep in the forefront of my mind. Can’t wait to read through your site more closely. :-).

Leave a comment