side note – please respond

Excuse me, um, if you're not too busy, could you give me a hand here?
Excuse me, um, if you’re not too busy, could you give me a hand here?

So, my first self-help deal didn’t pan out.  I had beta-testers lined up, survey responses compiled, then only one person followed through.  I abandoned the project after two months, sad that I didn’t get nearly the level of response I had hoped for. But the desire to uplift / connect / be a positive influence hasn’t left me, just struggling to find a way to do it that comes from my soul.  To that end, I want to ask you a few questions.

You’re out and about, doing your thing and a stranger comes up to you, could be male or female – definitely human for all intents and purposes. They are clean, approached you with a smile and reach out to hand you a business card.

First question – would you take the card or not?

Let’s say you take the card. Once it’s securely in your hand,  the person doesn’t stop to chat, just hands you the card, perhaps parts with a “have a nice day” before going on about their business. You look at the card and see on one side,  one of the following statements

  • Love the outfit, you look amazing in it!
  • Love your hair!
  • It’s okay to seek and ask for help; sometimes even the strongest of us needs a hand.
  • You’ve survived this long and that’s something to feel good about.
  • Yes, you deserve sincere compliments. When they happen, don’t knock it, ACCEPT it – perhaps with a shy smile – and a warm “Thank-you.”
  • You were born worthy of love and respect. Nothing’s changed since then other than your age.
  • No, really…You’re awesome just as you are.
  • You have divine, universal permission to love yourself first.
  • You’re alive which means you have the ability to gather the resources you’ll need to do and have the things you want.

Second question – How do you think you’d feel / think?

You turn the card over and on the other side you read, ” This card was given to you with sincerity. You’ve just had a random, positive connection with a fellow human being. Feel free to revel in the warm vibe.  Keep this card to be reminded of how good it felt, or pay it forward and pass this card (with sincerity) on to some one else.”

Third question – do you think your feelings about the experience would change? If so, how?  How do you think you would feel about having been chosen to receive it?

Fourth question – Would you think less of receiving it if there was a business name attached, as in a small line at the bottom that said, “courtesy of XYZ business.” ?

You’re responses are definitely appreciated, and much-needed.  Thank you!

 

9 thoughts on “side note – please respond

  1. Hey there! Here is my feedback. So I like the idea/concept and would be receptive to receiving a card (with business contact info or whatever on the back of it) from someone but would need more interaction that just handing it to me. That seems kinda creepy… Possibly, handing it to me with a compliment after seeing me help someone or encourage someone or give someone a compliment or something, that I could get up with more than just some random stranger handing me a business card. As for the reasons, I would say keep them positive and encouraging. Number 3 and number 4 come off a bit judgy and too personal to me. Possibly change the wording on only give them to folks that you see struggling and you actually make some kind of positive eye contact with. I think I would get a bit pissy if someone handed me a note like that without some kind of confirmation that they were “okay or permitted to be in my personal space”. I don’t like the smile advice part of the comment on the fifth one; again seems too directional as if I can’t figure out what to do with my face or something. Maybe changing the wording to “try doing so with a moderate smile or slight smile,”…

  2. First question – would you take the card or not?

    Yes, definitely!

    Second question – How do you think you’d feel / think?

    I’d feel excited at first, and a little less excited after reading that it was just some weird, random experiment thing.

    Third question – do you think your feelings about the experience would change? If so, how? How do you think you would feel about having been chosen to receive it?

    Actually, I would feel a little special for having been selected to receive the card. But I would feel even more special if the card said something like, “Great outfit!” or any of the other sentiments you mentioned in the above post.

    Fourth question – Would you think less of receiving it if there was a business name attached, as in a small line at the bottom that said, “courtesy of XYZ business.” ?

    I wouldn’t think less of it. I might even think MORE of it, because there’s a serious business backing this campaign. It would make me feel like I was a part of a bigger idea. It’s more interesting because it seems like there is a big organization behind the card, not just some random person acting alone.

    Very interesting, thanks for allowing us to voice our opinions!

    -john

      1. What made me think or feel like it was a weird, random experiment thing was what it says on the back of the card:

        ”This card was given to you with sincerity. You’ve just had a random, positive connection with a fellow human being. Feel free to revel in the warm vibe. Keep this card to be reminded of how good it felt, or pay it forward and pass this card (with sincerity) on to some one else.”

        And the feeling that it’s a weird, random experiment thing might be enhanced if there’s a company name attached to it. But again, I think I would feel better with the company name. Without the company name, it’s just some weirdo doing something weird!

        -john

Leave a Reply

